Login Register

Students from Park School in Barnstaple presented with their GCSE certificates and special awards

By North Devon Journal  |  Posted: November 13, 2012

ACHIEVEMENT: Head teacher David Atton, behind centre left, with North Devon MP Nick Harvey and award-winning students from The Park Community School, Barnstaple.

Comments (0)

STUDENTS and their parents packed the school hall at The Park Community School in Barnstaple for the annual presentation of GCSE certificates and special awards.

So many attended that staff had to bring in more chairs.

Head teacher David Atton welcomed students, parents and staff, as well as guest speaker North Devon MP Nick Harvey.

Looking back, Mr Atton mentioned events that had made headline news when the students first started at Park School.

Five years on they had produced the best GCSE results the school had ever had.

He said: "You were a fantastic year and achieved fantastic results."

Mr Harvey then presented the certificates and special awards.

He began his speech by sincerely congratulating the students on their results and said they had worked a lot harder than his generation.

He said they had been given a wonderful start in life.

"Gone are the days when people could expect to do one job for years and end up with a carriage clock on the mantle piece," he said.

Instead, he said students today would probably change careers but the opportunities out there were absolutely limitless.

He urged the youngsters in the audience to embrace those opportunities, go out and explore the world, and make the most of it.

Special awards: John William Prize for contribution to school life, Alfred Jones; Payne Shield for services to the community, Jenna Brown; Children and Young People's Award, Connor Burden; the Rev John Benson Prize for RE, Miles Kingsley; Sociology Award, Araminta Pain; Morgan Prize for COPE (Certificate of Personal Effectiveness), Emma Windsor; Physical Education Prize (female best all-rounder), Rebecca Goulding; Physical Education Prize (male best all-rounder), George Williams; David Pengelly Prize for Music, Ryan Adamson; Newsham Prize for Best GCSE Certificate, Hope Hughes; Lee-McEldon Citizenship Award, Crystal Mcmanus; Governors' Award for Work Experience, Danika Dunn and Ashley Headon; The Jonathan Baxter Memorial Shield (Business and Enterprise Award), Bradley Bell and Alfred Jones; Art Achievement Award, Hope Boyle; Gerald Thorne Prize for Geography, George Williams; Grant Prize for History, Hope Hughes; Biology Prize, Samuel Cooper; Chemistry Prize, Sabrina Shah; Physics Prize, George Williams; Languages (French), Hope Hughes; Languages (German), Ryan Adamson; Languages (Spanish), Madeline Norton; Child Development, Emma Fitzgerald; English Attainment Award, George Williams; English Achievement Award, Andrew Foster; Deputy Head Girl Prize, Jenna Brown; Deputy Head Boy Prize, George Williams; Hughes Prize for Head Girl, Hannah Swales; Critchley Prize for Head Boy, Gareth Sloman; Evans & Co Maths Award for best overall achievement, Samuel Cooper; Evans & Co

Maths Award for best overall progress, Paulo Symons.

Read more from North Devon Journal

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters