Login Register

Scottish player wins Bideford Bowling Club tournament singles trophy

By North Devon Journal  |  Posted: August 15, 2013

PAIRS FINALISTS: From left are Jenny Fishwick and Shirley Davies, of Victoria Park, and Eve Lever and Christina Payne, of Great Torrington.

Comments (0)


THE MEN'S singles trophy was on its way to Scotland after Bideford Bowling Club's 82nd Annual Tournament but there were North Devon winners in the pairs and triples.

Scott Rogers, from Edinburgh, defeated Adam Loveridge, of Barnstaple Bowling Club, to take the prize north, just as his father-in-law George Tregonning had done in 1978.

As well as Scotland, the event attracted competitors from Norfolk, London, Weymouth and Nottingham.

There was some fine bowling throughout the week and the semi-finals and finals were watched by about 200 people.

In the men's singles final Rogers, who plays for Craigentinny, opened up an early 7-3 lead but by halfway it was 9-9.

Loveridge went 15-9 up before Rogers fought back to level at 18-18. And with a great last wood he removed Loveridge's shot wood to take the victory by three shots.

The ladies' pairs final, with Victoria Park's Shirley Davies and Jenny Fishwick taking on Eve Lever and Christina Payne of Great Torrington, was one of the highlights of the week.

At 16 ends the score was 11-11. Fishwick then led 15-11, only for the Torrington pair to take a three on the 21st end to make it 15-15.

Then Fishwick, with her last bowl of the extra end, trailed the jack for a score of five shots to win the match 20-15.

In the men's pairs Ian Dunham and Michael Phillips, from Barnstaple, found themselves down 17-5 after 10 ends in the semi-final, but their opponents, skipped by Bideford's Steve Bonetta, failed to score another shot and lost the game 30-17.

The reverse happened in the final with Phillips 14-4 up after 10 ends against the host club's Damian Stacey and Graham Wonnacott. The Bideford pair then shortened the jack and ran out winners 26-17.

Last year's winners, skipped by Steve Chugg of Ilfracombe, reached the men's triples final but could not repeat their success. They were beaten by Bideford's Stacey, Francis Welsh and Phil Bolt.

Results – mixed triples – semi-finals: Rosemary Page (Rock Park), Tony Stacey, Damian Stacey (Bideford) 11 James Popham (Bideford), Jeanette Douglas, Joy Cooke (Solihull) 17; Shelley and Gordon Owen, Nigel Dunn (Victoria Park) 17 Liz Purdon, Adam Loveridge, Michael Woodcock (Barnstaple) 13. Final: Nigel Dunn 10 Joy Cooke 20.

Ladies' pairs – semi-finals: Minnie Day (Bideford) and Audrey Stephens (Bournville) 15 Shirley Davies and Jenny Fishwick (Victoria Park) 26, Eve Lever and Christina Payne (Great Torrington) 20 Sylvia Mason and Irene Everall (Combe Martin) 15. Final: Christina Payne 15 Jenny Fishwick 20.

Men's triples – semi-finals: Tony Darcy (Ilfracombe), Julian Beer (Utd Services), Steve Chugg (Ilfracombe) 16 David Allen (Edinburgh), Gavin and Scott Rogers (Craigentinny) 7; Paul Johnson, Charlie Headon, Lee Sykes (Bideford) 9 Francis Welsh, Phil Bolt, Damien Stacey (Bideford) 19. Final: Steve Chugg 12 Damien Stacey 22.

Men's pairs – semi-finals: Tony Darcy and Steve Chugg (Ilfracombe) 10 Damien Stacey and Graham Wonnacott (Bideford) 20, Richard Smith (Romford) and Steve Bonetta (Bideford) 17 Ian Dunham (Rock Park) and Michael Phillips (Utd Services) 30. Final: Graham Wonnacott 26 Michael Phillips 17.

Men's singles – semi-finals: Scott Rogers (Craigentinny) 21 Alan Seth (Romford) 14, Graham Wonnacott (Bideford) 18 Adam Loveridge (Barnstaple) 21. Final: Adam Loveridge 18 Scott Rogers 21.

Len Ricks Cup (best visiting singles player not in the final): Alan Seth (Romford).

ED Williams Cup (best Bideford singles player): Graham Wonnacott.

F Hopwood Cup (Bideford player with most points in the tournament): Damien Stacey.

Read more from North Devon Journal

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters