Login Register

Barnstaple are title winners ... of 1979-80

By North Devon Journal  |  Posted: December 27, 2012

CHAMPIONS: The Barnstaple Town team who won the Western League championship in the 1979-80 season.

Comments (0)

AS THEY languish at the foot of the table, it is hard to imagine a time when Barnstaple Town were the Western League champions.

But in 1980 that is exactly what they were – only many people might not have realised it.

An industrial dispute by printers meant the North Devon Journal-Herald was not published in the week Barnstaple secured the title with a 2-0 win at Bridport.

It was 12 days after that victory before Barnstaple's achievement finally appeared in print, by which time the focus had already switched to the appointment of a new manager and the rebuilding of the team.

Thirty-two and a half years later, Journal sports writer Mark Jenkin puts things right with a special report on Barnstaple Town's champions, including interviews with Bryan Hill, joint manager at the time with Dave Baglow, and supporter John Clarke.

See pages 54-55.

Read more from North Devon Journal

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters